Welcome to the online home of Tim Challies, blogger, author, and book reviewer.

Tim Challies

Challies on FacebookChallies on Twitter

A La Carte

July 06, 2007

Friday July 6, 2007

Supplies: You know you need want some of these—MegaSticky oversize sticky notes.

Islam: A titch off-color, perhaps, but having lived in Scotland I got a real chuckle out of headlines like this one. You just don’t mess with the Scots. “A HERO cabbie who took on the Glasgow Airport terror suspects told yesterday how he booted one of them in the privates. Alex McIlveen, 45, kicked the man, whose body was in flames, so hard that he tore a tendon in his foot.” Islam may be taking over England but it’ll have a tough time a bit further north!

Gender: Carolyn McCulley is helping debunk the talkative women myth.

Radio: Richard Phillips, whom I wrote about yesterday, is going to be a guest on “Calling for Truth” today (catch it on the Net from 1-2 PM).

July 05, 2007

Thursday July 5, 2007

Islam: An interesting article at Yahoo in which they discuss “a socio-economic trend in which wealthy [Islamic] families highly educate their sons, who sometimes become radical and have the education they need to become leaders.”

Environment: The “Chicago Sun Times says “Alarmist global warming claims melt under scientific scrutiny.”

Du Jour: Joe Carter tells us that he is a jerk. “In almost every one of my relationships there comes a point when the other person—whether acquaintance, friend, or coworker—realizes that I’m kind of a jerk.”

July 04, 2007

Wednesday July 4, 2007

Music: Fans of Caedmon’s Call, The Normals or Andrew Osenga will want to download this free EP that was released a few days ago.

Books: An interesting little article at Publishers Weekly says that female pastors are becoming fashionable in Christian fiction.

Theology: Charles Schultz (creator of Peanuts) comments on the gift of prophecy.

Politics: I’m not entirely sure about the credibility of this article but it sure was interesting. “That’s Africa, and it’s in desperate need of our help. Luckily, a few enlightened megastars from America and Europe have come to save it. Curiously, not all the natives are grateful.”

July 03, 2007

Tuesday July 3, 2007

Jobs: If you are a programming geek, Desiring God may just have a job for you.

Interview: Trevin Wax has a fresh interview with Caedmon’s Call.

Du Jour: Russell Moore has posted a good commentary dealing with creationism, the gap theory, and reconciling Scripture and the scientific data.

Music: Bob Kauflin is giving away what is probably my favorite song from last year’s “Valley of Vision” CD. It seems to have become a conference favorite as well.

Technology: If you’re still uncertain about using RSS, SaidatSouthern has a brief video tutorial teaching how to use Google Reader.

July 02, 2007

Monday July 2, 2007

Books: The DG blog shares the almost unbelievable results of their recent sale.

Children: An article in the Telegraph shows, to no one’s great surprise, that babies are not quite as innocent as they may appear.

Conference: Brett and Alex Harris have released a video promoting the Rebelution Tour, now underway.

June 29, 2007

Friday June 29, 2007

Interview: Martin Downes has an interview with Mark Dever.

Humor: Josh Harris shares an important truth.

Books: Trevin shares some good advice on reading and on reading widely.

Politics: Following closely behind the environmental movement, expect to read more stories like this one, suggesting that the best and quickest solution to solving the world’s problems is to begin a program of depopulation (is that even a word)?

June 28, 2007

Thursday June 28, 2007

Video: American Vision has an amusing video dealing with Sam Harris and other atheists.

Marriage: An article at Slate discusses the trouble with engagement rings. Sure it’s a kind of silly tradition, but I don’t think it’s a bad one!

Theology: Mark Dever has begun a series asking where all these Calvinists have come from.

Music: Bob Kauflin has posted the MP3 and chart for a new adaptation of the hymn “Hallelujah, What a Savior.”

June 27, 2007

Wednesday June 27, 2007

Books: As promised, all the books at the Desiring God store are a mere $5 today. Even John Piper thinks this is crazy. So go and lose yourself in a frenzy of consumerism. You won’t be sorry!

Photo: Though the text accompanying it is a little over the top, this photo tells a story that the media seems to be hiding.

Islam: The NY Times has an interesting article about the etiquette of Jihad.

Theology: The latest edition of the 9Marks eJournal is now available. It focuses on the gospel and challenges to it.

Technology: WSJ reviews the iPhone . “Our verdict is that, despite some flaws and feature omissions, the iPhone is, on balance, a beautiful and breakthrough handheld computer”

June 21, 2007

Thursday June 21, 2007

Bible: BibleMapper is a really interesting program “that helps you quickly and easily create customized maps of the Holy Lands or study a particular period and aspect of Bible history.” It is available for free.

Contest: I have announced the winners of the Discerning Reader contest over at DR.

Blogs: 9Marks Ministries has just begun a new blog called Church Matters. I’m sure it’s going to prove worth a bookmark or the addition to your RSS reader.

Conference: Desiring God has opened registration to this year’s national conference “Stand: A Call for the Endurance of the Saints.” Speakers are John MacArthur, Jerry Bridges, Randy Alcorn, Helen Roseveare and John Piper.

Media: I found this article an interesting perspective on the news, especially after recently reading “Amusing Ourselves to Death.”

Books: Monergism Books is having a sale on all Banner of Truth sets. This is your chance to get books by Owen, Edwards, Sibbes, etc for lower than ever before.

June 14, 2007

Thursday June 14, 2007

Books: At Desiring God you can find an excerpt from the conclusion of John Piper’s upcoming book on justification.

Music: Bob Kauflin has a long post about “New Songs, New CD’s, and a New Website.”

Music: Also in the world of music, you may be interested in Sing The Word, a series of CDs with Scripture memory verses for children set to diverse types of music.

People: John MacArthur is the second worst person in the world according to Keith Olbermann, host of MSNBC’s “Countdown.”

Style: Christa Taylor designs modest clothes for girls and women that avoid the “modesty by wearing burlap sacks” mentality.

Pages