Welcome to the online home of Tim Challies, blogger, author, and book reviewer.

Tim Challies

Challies on FacebookChallies on Twitter

A La Carte

July 12, 2007

Thursday July 12, 2007

Environment: Russell Moore has posted a must-read article entitled “Blood, Gore, and Global Warming.” The last lines are brilliant. “Let’s take care of the earth, protect the natural order. But let’s remember that the world is not ultimately rescued by politicians or musicians or filmmakers or scientists. The world is saved by blood, not Gore.”

Music: Ted wants to know why whites do not like black music.

Television: Hamas TV has a made a martyr of a mouse. “A Mickey Mouse lookalike who preached Islamic domination on a Hamas-affiliated children’s television program was beaten to death in the show’s final episode Friday.”

Du Jour: Joe Carter has a good article dealing with “Larry Flynt vs. David Vitter: Examining the Difference Between Hypocrisy and Moral Inconsistency.”

July 11, 2007

Wednesday July 11, 2007

Books: The Evangelical Christian Publishers Association has announced their award winners for 2007. John Piper’s “What Jesus Demands from the World” won in the Christian Life category. Strangely, a novel took the big prize (and, even more strangely, didn’t even win in its own category).

Catholicism: The pope has apparently angered some Protestants by declaring that the Catholic Church is the only fully true church. Why does this surprise anyone?

Church: Christianity Today has a sad article about one of America’s most awful exports—the health and wealth gospel—and how it is polluting Africa.

Media: This commercial is very creative. Be sure to watch it to the end.

July 10, 2007

Tuesday July 10, 2007

Television: Just when you thought television couldn’t get any worse.

Interview: Martin Downes’ latest interview is with Tom Ascol.

Birthdays: James White wished Jean Cauvin a happy 498th.

Technology: This looks like a great little utility to help you find the five or ten remaining domain names that actually make some kind of sense.

July 09, 2007

Monday July 9, 2007

Humor: Alex Chediak made my day with this.

ChurchMerch: ChurchMerch goes to a new, even more revolting extreme.

Music: I found this video really interesting. The speaker, Evelyn Glennie, is a very talented deaf percussionist and she explains how to listen to music with your whole body.

Books: CT recently had an article discussing the ongoing pursuit of the next big thing in publishing.

Liveblogging: Adrian is liveblogging the Together on a Mission conference.

July 06, 2007

Friday July 6, 2007

Supplies: You know you need want some of these—MegaSticky oversize sticky notes.

Islam: A titch off-color, perhaps, but having lived in Scotland I got a real chuckle out of headlines like this one. You just don’t mess with the Scots. “A HERO cabbie who took on the Glasgow Airport terror suspects told yesterday how he booted one of them in the privates. Alex McIlveen, 45, kicked the man, whose body was in flames, so hard that he tore a tendon in his foot.” Islam may be taking over England but it’ll have a tough time a bit further north!

Gender: Carolyn McCulley is helping debunk the talkative women myth.

Radio: Richard Phillips, whom I wrote about yesterday, is going to be a guest on “Calling for Truth” today (catch it on the Net from 1-2 PM).

July 05, 2007

Thursday July 5, 2007

Islam: An interesting article at Yahoo in which they discuss “a socio-economic trend in which wealthy [Islamic] families highly educate their sons, who sometimes become radical and have the education they need to become leaders.”

Environment: The “Chicago Sun Times says “Alarmist global warming claims melt under scientific scrutiny.”

Du Jour: Joe Carter tells us that he is a jerk. “In almost every one of my relationships there comes a point when the other person—whether acquaintance, friend, or coworker—realizes that I’m kind of a jerk.”

July 04, 2007

Wednesday July 4, 2007

Music: Fans of Caedmon’s Call, The Normals or Andrew Osenga will want to download this free EP that was released a few days ago.

Books: An interesting little article at Publishers Weekly says that female pastors are becoming fashionable in Christian fiction.

Theology: Charles Schultz (creator of Peanuts) comments on the gift of prophecy.

Politics: I’m not entirely sure about the credibility of this article but it sure was interesting. “That’s Africa, and it’s in desperate need of our help. Luckily, a few enlightened megastars from America and Europe have come to save it. Curiously, not all the natives are grateful.”

July 03, 2007

Tuesday July 3, 2007

Jobs: If you are a programming geek, Desiring God may just have a job for you.

Interview: Trevin Wax has a fresh interview with Caedmon’s Call.

Du Jour: Russell Moore has posted a good commentary dealing with creationism, the gap theory, and reconciling Scripture and the scientific data.

Music: Bob Kauflin is giving away what is probably my favorite song from last year’s “Valley of Vision” CD. It seems to have become a conference favorite as well.

Technology: If you’re still uncertain about using RSS, SaidatSouthern has a brief video tutorial teaching how to use Google Reader.

July 02, 2007

Monday July 2, 2007

Books: The DG blog shares the almost unbelievable results of their recent sale.

Children: An article in the Telegraph shows, to no one’s great surprise, that babies are not quite as innocent as they may appear.

Conference: Brett and Alex Harris have released a video promoting the Rebelution Tour, now underway.

June 29, 2007

Friday June 29, 2007

Interview: Martin Downes has an interview with Mark Dever.

Humor: Josh Harris shares an important truth.

Books: Trevin shares some good advice on reading and on reading widely.

Politics: Following closely behind the environmental movement, expect to read more stories like this one, suggesting that the best and quickest solution to solving the world’s problems is to begin a program of depopulation (is that even a word)?

Pages