Skip to content ↓

A La Carte (7/4)

A La Carte Collection cover image

Wednesday July 4, 2007

Music: Fans of Caedmon’s Call, The Normals or Andrew Osenga will want to download this free EP that was released a few days ago.

Books: An interesting little article at Publishers Weekly says that female pastors are becoming fashionable in Christian fiction.

Theology: Charles Schultz (creator of Peanuts) comments on the gift of prophecy.

Politics: I’m not entirely sure about the credibility of this article but it sure was interesting. “That’s Africa, and it’s in desperate need of our help. Luckily, a few enlightened megastars from America and Europe have come to save it. Curiously, not all the natives are grateful.”


  • A La Carte Collection cover image

    Weekend A La Carte (February 3)

    Weekend A La Carte: The gospel is about going to heaven when you die / We need more repellently attractional churches / Partiality is not a victimless sin / The single most encouraging thing for a pastor / Amazing grace in deep despair / and more.

  • The Deconstruction of Christianity

    The Deconstruction of Christianity

    There is nothing new and nothing particularly unusual about apostasy—about people who once professed the Christian faith coming to deny it. From the early church to the present day, we have witnessed a long and sad succession of people walking away from Christianity and often doing so with expressions of anger, animosity, and personal superiority.…

  • Free Stuff Friday – The Timeless Truths Bible (Thomas Nelson Bibles)

    This week Free Stuff Friday is sponsored by Thomas Nelson Bibles. They are giving away five copies of the Timeless Truths Bible. About the Timeless Truths Bible: The Christian faith is founded upon unchanging, timeless truth. From the days of the early church until the day of Christ’s return, all of Christianity proclaims that “Jesus…

  • A La Carte Friday 2

    A La Carte (February 2)

    A La Carte: When your spouse won’t join a solid church / The gospel gives us courage / The beautiful burden of caregiving / At work in his Word / Do I have a hard heart? / Surrendering rights for the sake of the gospel / and more.

  • A La Carte Thursday 1

    A La Carte (February 1)

    A La Carte: Vetting kids’ entertainment isn’t a one-and-done / Joni Eareckson Tada’s resilient joy in pain / Honor marriage / How can the church remain faithful in this current cultural climate? / What senior pastors should know about the younger generations / and more.

  • When God Gives Us a Platform

    When God Gives Us a Platform

    There are many ways we may respond to the sudden onrush of some new pain or the sudden onset of some fresh sorrow. There are many options set before us when health fails and uncertainty draws near, when wealth collapses and bankruptcy looms, when a loved one is taken and we are left alone. There…